Introduction To Selling (video)

Salespeople need to know how to present, although they also need to know when not to present. I once sold a $100M outsourcing contract over a 12-month sales cycle, and I had salespeople from all parts of the company asking me to share my slides, hoping to replicate this success. They were disappointed: I hadn’t used a single slide in all that time.

Selling isn’t all about presenting: it’s about setting clear objectives, understanding your customer and their problems, choosing suitable messages, making a connection, gaining their respect, communicating your key messages effectively and memorably, delivering a clear call-to-action, and convincing the customer to act.

Look back at that last sentence, though, and you’ll realise that in fact we could say all those things about a presentation as well. Selling and presenting have so much in common. It’s partly why my sales management background helps me in my role as a presentation designer and coach. It also explains why I train people to sell, as well as to present.

Here is a video of my latest mentor session for Le Camping, the Paris-based start-up accelerator, which was the introduction to a one-day seminar about sales and negotiating. In this talk, I cover how to approach a sales meeting, based on three key objectives: making a connection, listening & learning, and always getting to the next step.

2 Responses to Introduction To Selling (video)

  1. Fully agree, “Selling isn’t all about presenting”, you’re right, you are positionning customers at the centre of the focus, you are focusing on the real purpose: the customer and the problem he has to fix. The presentation is not the focus. I recognize here the great seller you still are. I love. Congratulation and thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

